The Changeling’s Journey by Christine Spoors


Title: The Changeling’s Journey

Author: Christine Spoors

Pages: N/A

Publisher: Self-Published

Published: 2017

Source: ARC from Christine (thank you!)

Rating: ★★★★★


Ailsa is dead. Leaving Morven the last surviving changeling in the village. Everyone knows it is only a matter of time before she too is dead. Desperate to find out why the fairies steal human babies, and to save her own life, she leaves her family behind, travelling north into the fairy kingdoms with her best friend.

They soon find that making their way through vast magical forests, across kelpie-ridden lochs and over seemingly endless mountain ranges is more than they were prepared for. Despite the countless evenings spent listening to stories about adventures, fairies and magic, they find themselves out of their depth. Fighting to stay alive.

Meanwhile in the fairy kingdoms, Princess Freya of Culhuinn struggles to cope with life now that her love has been taken from her. Whilst Queen Euna of Norbroch spends more time lost in her memories than she does ruling her kingdom.

One changeling’s journey to save her life will alter their world forever.


The Changeling’s Journey is a really unique book that one of my bestest friends ever has written. Although she is my friend and I was sent this copy for review, this is no way affects my review. The book is genuinely amazing and that good. I can’t wait for everyone to read it!

The Changeling’s Journey is unique for its use of Scottish culture and folklore. As someone who doesn’t know much folklore, particularly Scottish folklore, I found this to be interesting but I also did actually find myself linking things in the book to things that I had heard of. I really liked the incorporation of these tales into this book. This book was also really well written and I am super proud of Christine for writing and creating this wonderful story.

This book also had a few different PoVs which made the story interesting as it meant that we got to see many more parts of the world that the story is set in. The story really follows Morven, the last Changeling in her village, who goes off on an adventure to the Fairy Kingdoms in search of a ‘cure’. It’s not really a cure as such, it’s more of a way around it. I felt really invested in this book because I liked Morven and I really enjoyed seeing her journey across the land and really just seeing her grow with her experiences. I also liked Glen as I thought that he was a funny and cute character.

Something that I really loved was that there was such a strong friendship between Morven and Glen. I love books that don’t just feature romance, but also strong friendships and this book ticked that box for me. So although this book does have different PoVs, I felt that this was mainly Morven’s story, which it is. My favourite character in this book probably was Morven or Euna. I thought that they were both interesting in their own ways and I’d love to hear more about what they get up to following the events of this book.

The journey was interesting because I felt that there were a lot of things that Morven discovered on her travels. There were new towns and villages with new experiences and things to try. There were new characters that came up throughout the book. It wasn’t sunny all the time, which made it more realistic because as this is based on Scottish folklore, the weather should also be authentic and as most of you know, it is mostly always raining in Scotland and in the U.K. in general! I loved how the story began to come together so nicely and I felt so excited whenever I saw it happen. The journey was just really interesting and I really felt like I learnt some new things about Scotland and its tales, which is a bonus as I love fantasy and I love learning things and this book did both!

The ending was surprising but really good. I felt like it wrapped up nicely and any loose ends were tied up, however I did ask Christine about a certain character in the book because I wanted to know what their future would be like!

There were so many different elements to this story that really came together to make my experience of reading it amazing. I really enjoyed The Changeling’s Journey for its blend of Scottish tales thus creating this fantastic story. It definitely took me on a wild ride and I totally devoured it. I would most definitely recommend it, and for those of you who are giant fans of folklore, tales, fairies and/or adventure, this is a must read!


You can see more of my pictures (like above!) at here!

Leave a Reply

